Professor Adrian Hayday


Chair of Scientific Advisory Board

Professor Adrian Hayday co-founded Gamma Delta Therapeutics in 2016 and brings with him a lifetime of research experience as one of the leading academics to uncover the unique properties of γδ T-cells. He began studying immunology in 1982 at MIT, where he and his colleagues first described the wholly unanticipated T-cell receptor gamma chain genes. Establishing that γδ T-cells are distinct from conventional T-cells, Professor Hayday and his colleagues demonstrated that γδ T-cells generate rapid responses to tissue dysregulation to monitor tissue integrity, rather than showing highly specific responses to pathogens, as is the case for conventional T and B cells.

Over the course of his career, Professor Hayday has authored over 200 papers, the majority of which are original research contributions. He has received many awards, including the William Clyde deVane Medal, Yale College’s highest honour for scholarship and teaching, an honorary fellowship from King’s College London, and the King’s College Business Award. He was elected to lead the British Society of Immunology (2005-09), and is an elected fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences and of the Royal Society.

Professor Hayday has chaired the American Cancer Society grants panel; the Wellcome Trust Infection and Immunity Board, and Cancer Research UK’s science committee, and he has been advisor for many institutions including Institut Pasteur, the Max Planck Institute, and Kyoto University. In the biopharmaceutical space, he co-founded biotech company ImmunoQure, and was a member of MedImmune’s Science Advisory Board.

He trained in Biochemistry at the University of Cambridge and obtained a PhD in Molecular Virology from Imperial College London. He is currently a Professor of Immunobiology at King’s College London, a Clinical Academic Group leader at King’s Health Partners, and Group Leader at the Francis Crick Institute where he is an Assistant Research Director. He was also until 2019 the lead-investigator of a Wellcome Trust-supported, multi-centre, high-throughput phenotypic screening programme to identify novel genetic regulators of the immune system.

Professor Adrian Hayday


Scientific Advisory Board

Gillian Griffiths is Professor of Cell Biology and Immunology at the University of Cambridge and the Director of the Cambridge Institute for Medical Research. She studied Immunology at University College London before moving to the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology in Cambridge for her PhD, supervised by César Milstein.

Griffiths was one of the first to show that immune cells have specialised mechanisms of secretion, and identified proteins and mechanisms that control cytotoxic T lymphocyte secretion. Her research focuses on understanding the cell biology of polarised secretion from lymphocytes, using insights gained from genetic disease and parallels between different biological systems to identify the molecular mechanisms underlying this process.

Griffiths was elected as a Fellow of the Academy of Medical Sciences in 2005 and a member of the European Molecular Biology Organisation (EMBO) in 2006. In 2013, she was elected as a Fellow of the Royal Society.

Sally Ward


Scientific Advisory Board

Sally Ward is currently a Professor of Molecular Immunology and Director of Translational Immunology at the Centre for Cancer Immunology within the Faculty of Medicine at the University of Southampton.

Professor Ward received her BA with First Class Honours in Natural Sciences (Part II course, Biochemistry) at the University of Cambridge in 1982 and completed her PhD in Biochemistry at the Department of Biochemistry, University of Cambridge, under the mentorship of Professor David J. Ellar in 1985. From 1988 to 1990 she held the Stanley Elmore Senior Medical Research Fellowship at Sidney Sussex College, Cambridge, whilst working with Sir Greg Winter at the MRC Laboratory of Molecular Biology, Cambridge. From 1990-2020, she was on the faculty at UT Southwestern Medical Center in Dallas followed by Texas A&M University.

The Ward laboratory is run jointly with the laboratory of Professor Raimund Ober. The research is directed towards taking a highly interdisciplinary approach to generate effective therapeutics for autoimmunity and cancer. This involves a combination of antibody/protein engineering, fluorescence microscopy and in vivo studies in mouse models of disease. Her research has led to several technologies that are currently in the clinic, and include half-life extension of antibodies and the clearance of autoreactive antibodies for the treatment of autoimmune disease.

Professor Ward was the founding co-organizer of the Antibody Biology and Engineering Gordon Research Conference in 2010 and is currently Vice President of the Antibody Society.



Scientific Advisory Board

Jessica Strid is currently a Reader in Cellular Immunology in the Department of Immunology and Inflammation at Imperial College London.

Dr Strid received her MSc degree from the Danish University of Pharmaceutical Sciences in Copenhagen, Denmark. She completed her PhD in immunology at the Institute of Child Health, University College London, UK with a focus on food allergy and skin immunology. As a PostDoc she joined Adrian Hayday’s research group at Kings College London and later worked at Cancer Research UK. Her PostDoc studies were focused on autologous sterile stress responses in the skin and their recognition by resident immune cells. In 2012 she took up a position as Lecturer at Imperial College London and became an independent group leader. The following year she was awarded the Wellcome Trust New Investigator Award and in 2019 the prestigious Wellcome Trust Investigator Award.

Her laboratory studies immune-surveillance at epithelial body surface tissues and focuses on understanding the role of tissue resident immune cells in regulating epithelial cell homeostasis, repair and carcinogenesis. Her lab work is mainly in the skin and she has a particular interest in the origins of Type 2 immunity and its role in immune stress-surveillance and host defence.



Scientific Advisory Board

John Haurum, M.D., D.Phil. is a Non-executive Director in various European biotech companies (Synklino, Neophore, Storm, Agomab, Synact) and an advisor to Novo Seeds. He was the CEO of F-star in Cambridge, UK (2012-2018), where he built a successful biotech company that initiated two clinical trials in oncology and generated more than €200M in non-dilutive revenue. Previously he was VP Research at ImClone Systems, New York (2010-2012) and before then he was the Chief Scientific Officer and cofounder of Symphogen A/S, Denmark (2000-2009). After graduating in Medicine in Aarhus Denmark 1992, Dr. Haurum received a D.Phil. in Immunology from the Institute of Molecular Medicine, John Radcliffe Hospital, University of Oxford, England. Subsequently, he took up positions as Associate Professor at the Danish Cancer Society and completed his medical training.

Talk to US

This form collects your name and email to enable us to contact you regarding your enquiry. For further information on how we protect and manage your submitted data view our privacy policy.

Thank you for your message. It has been sent.
There was an error trying to send your message. Please try again later.